Proud to be celebrating 20 years of changing lives through education!


About Us

School Choice Scholarships was established in 1998 by a group of community leaders with a vision: to ensure that children from low-income backgrounds could have access to quality education.  Our founding members believed that all children should have the same opportunities for academic success.  They realized that, too often, low-income families do not have a choice for their children's school.  

By The Numbers

In the 20 years since our founding, School Choice Scholarships has more than $8 million to nearly 8,000 of Louisville's children to attend more than 60 private and parochial schools throughout the community.  School Choice scholars consistently show enormous improvements in academic performance, their families report much improved behavior and enthusiasm for learning, and they are breaking the cycle of poverty.


Executive Director

Heather Huddleston


Senior Director, Grants and Outreach

Meredith McCann

Board of Directors

Jim Patterson, President and Founding Member

Gant Hill, Chair

Shari Patterson Hagan, Vice Chair

Ann Wells, Treasurer and Founding Member

Janet Reilly, Secretary

Phil Moffett, Founding Member

Anita Barbee

Robert Blair

Jim Dahlem

Betty Schutte

Lyndell Shepherd

Beth Steinbock

George Fischer, Founding Member and Director Emeritus